Dusk Dubs Selection - DD0305

21 February 2024


Dusk Dubs was a podcast series, in a similar vein to the Back To Mine series. My contribution is from back in 2015. There were so many great names contributing to this series, I'm not sure how my name managed to be put in as an option, but it was and I was really happy to be a part of it. 


The brief was to provide tracks that meant something to me for some reason or another, to write a little about each track and the guys would segue the tracks together. Or as they put it to me, no mixing, just letting the tracks breathe. As is often the case with these things, I'm not sure everyone followed the brief... I know from my dealings with Box Frequency FM that even the simplest of guides, like time limits to mixes, were often not followed very well. 


Sadly, Dusk Dubs is no more, and the website is down too, otherwise I'd have shared some links and the writing I contributed with my tracklist. The tracks each have a meaning to me in one way or another though, and as mentioned, this isn't about mixing (and it wasn't me doing that part in any case). The final aspect was providing an image to use as a cover for my show and I opted to use one from a bike trip I had been on and this is of Glen Coe in the Scottish Highlands.



01. Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong - Moonlight In Vermont (Wax Time / Verve)
02. Bill Withers - Hope She’ll Be Happier With Him (Sussex)
03. B.J. Smith - We Can Sail (NuNorthern Soul)
04. Nina Simone - Do I Move You? (RCA)
05. James Brown - King Heroin (Polydor)
06. Nick Drake - Saturday Sun (Island Records)
07. Harry Nilsson - Everybody’s Talking (RCA Victor)
08. Jellybread - I Pity The Fool (Blue Horizon)
09. Fat Freddy’s Drop - Hope (The Drop)
10. Massive Attack - Better Things (Virgin)
11. Gwen McCrae - 90% Of Me Is You (RCA Victor)
12. Lani Hall - Love Song (A&M Records)
13. Junip - Without You (City Slang)
14. Suzanne Kraft - Flatiron (Melody As Truth)
15. Kings Of Convenience - Misread (Source / Virgin)
16. The Detroit Experiment - Highest (Ropeadope Records)
17. The Doobie Brothers - Losin’ End (Warner Bros. Records)
18. Christian Prommer’s Drumlesson - Plastic Dreams(Sonar Kollektiv)

Download via Hearthis


No comments

Post a Comment