Reflect - Guest Mix for Corsica One

20 February 2024


This one comes from back in 2021. It had been a good couple of years since I'd been asked to do any guest mixes, and it was always something that gave me a bit of a thrill. Putting mixes together has been a big part of my life, but only in the sense of being a hobby I've loved through the years. At one point I wanted it to be more than that, but opportunity only knocked a couple of times and it was the right opportunities, nor the right times, so a hobby it has remained. Being asked to do a guest mix though, it's nice because it gives me the feeling like someone else has actually enjoyed the selections and stitching together of tracks, and who doesn't like to feel they're doing something they enjoy but getting it right in the sense others do too. That feeling has been few and far between, so when Alessio of Corsica One asked me to put something together for him to host on Mixcloud, of course I was happy to get on the case. As it stands, this was the last guest mix I put together for anyone, so maybe I'm not getting it quite right for others after all... but it's right for me and I'll go with that 🙃


This mix straddles the ambient / electronica sphere, sounds like I've grown to love more as I have explored the genres over time. I'm not altogether content with the cover image but I've opted to leave it as it is. The photo is one I took during my bike trip to Europe in 2019 and is from a few days I spent in Vienna, Austria where I managed to take in a gig with José González.




01. Biosphere - From A Solid To A Liquid (Biophon)
02. Cosmic Neman - ProximaB (Tigersushi)
03. Sun Electric - Love 2 Love (Music From Memory)
04. Jo Johnson - Discontent Arises From A Knowledge Of The Possible (Self Released)
05. Pauline Anna Strom - The Eighteen Beautiful Memories (RVNG Intl.)
06. Soundstory - Rainstorm (Self Release)
07. Etienne Jaumet - Orage Dans Le Creuse (Tigersushi)
08. Jonathan Fitoussi & Clemens Hourriére - Five Steps (Versatile)
09. Carbon Based Lifeforms - Dreamshore Forest (Analog Remake) (Leftfield Records)
10. James Bernard - UWA10 (A Strangely Isolated Place)
11. Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek - Workshop For Modernity (Faitiche)
12. David Moufang - Sergio Leone's Wet Dream (Music From Memory)


Download available via Hearthis


No comments

Post a Comment