In Natures Hands (34)

13 June 2024


This mix turns back towards ambient and abstract sounds, with some spoken words coming from Jeff Bridges too. It was originally number 34 in the 'Year of Music' series but I've gone with 'In Natures Hands' for the new name.

There's a few reasons why I came to this title. Firstly, the music to me feels organic and natural, I used a field recording from Melissa Pons as the opener to emphasise that feeling of nature. Secondly, I leaned into the cover image that I used originally, which is a photo I took locally and is the same image as above, but I've give it an edit to give it a trippier feel, if I can use that term. And thirdly, ultimately we are all in natures hands, none of us can escape that, and as I type this I'm in the midst of a flare up of aches and pains that have been feature of life for some time. It is what it is, but as that's how I'm feeling it seemed pertinent and timely and that it connects into this mix / title / feeling. 


A few of these releases were supporting a variety of charities, so check the links if you want to pick things up and support the labels and artists in their support of others.

As a side note, this is one of my favourite mixes I put together for this series, though it hardly had any plays, barely getting into double digits. I'm going to take a little break from posting and perhaps it'll get a little more attention from being left as the most recent post, but no big deal if not. I've got quite a lot on my plate so time needs spent on other things for the moment, but I'm sure I'll be back, speaking into the ether before too long, perhaps sooner than I think, but it'll be when it is.

If you want to know more about the 'Year of Music' series, then there's a little on that [HERE]. If you prefer to use a Soundcloud player, then you can find that [HERE] for the moment, it might not always be there as costs / benefits are entering my thoughts for when my subscription expires.



01. Melissa Pons - Around The Water (Self Release)
02. Jeff Bridges - Feeling Good (Self Release)
03. Padang Food Tigers - Rise Before The Rain (Under The Spire)
04. Part Timer - Myr (Home Normal)
05. Hinako Omori - Cloud Painting (Headphone Commute)
06. anthéne - The Traveler (Distant Bloom)
07. Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch - Ruby's Dance (Headphone Commute)
08. Ben McElroy - Bed Down In The Murk (The Slow Music Movement Label)
09. High Skies - The World Forgotten (Self Release)
10. Hinako Omori - The Richest Garden In Your Memory (Houndstooth)
11. Jon Hopkins - Arriving (Domino Recording Co.)
12. Jonny Nash & Ana Stamp - For You I Am Missing..... (Melody As Truth)
13. Letna - Sava (Whitelabrecs)
14. Rose Riebl - Near Dark (Headphone Commute)
15. Morimoto Naoki - Into (Whitelabrecs)



No comments

Post a Comment