Re-issues of 2015

22 December 2015

1. Letta Mbulu - In The Village The Music Never Ends (Be With Records)

Does this really need any explanation? Such a nice album with a timeless feel to the tracks within. As with a lot of re-issue records, you'd have little hope of owning a copy for yourself unless you had quite deep pockets. This album is arguably known mostly for the track 'Normalizo', which in recent times has had countless edits done. It's really so much more than that one track though, and well worth picking up to hear for yourself.

2. Gigi Masin - Wind (The Bear In The Moon Records)

Originally pressed in 1986, but never having been commercially available, this beautiful album from Gigi Masin traded hands for around £300-£400. Demand for this record increased in recent years which has led to it being remastered and reissued on Masin's own label.

As a side note, keep your eyes peeled in February 2016 for a new release from Gigi Masin & Tempelhof called 'Tsuki' on the excellent Hell Yeah label. A thing of beauty.


3. Milton Wright - Friends And Buddies (Athens Of The North)


Serious quality, as you would expect, from the fantastic Athens Of The North. The Edinburgh based label are masters of the re-issue, and this LP is no different. 

4. Cantoma - Cantoma (Music For Dreams)

This is just one of many great releases from Kenneth Bager's label, Music For Dreams. The added bonus with this re-issue is that you get a bonus 12" which includes some nice reworks from Ruf Dug, Banzai Republic and Kenneth Bager. This re-issue is apparently limited to 300 copies, so don't sleep on it.

5. Lyn Collins - Think (About It) (Get On Down)

A really nice re-issue of Lyn Collin's first solo LP. Added in with this pressing is a 7" with two tracks that hadn't previously been released on other Lyn Collins LP's as well as a 22"x22" poster.


A special mention for:

 Gloria Ann Taylor - Love Is A Hurtin' Thing (Luv N' Haight)

Okay, not technically a re-issue, but effectively re-issuing a selection of G.A.T tracks in the form of  a compilation. I think Ubiquity / Luv N' Haight have really done justice to this release and the complete package is a beautiful thing. Well, well worth picking up.


No comments

Post a Comment